Skip navigation

I like Command Line Interface. Maybe I’ve been saying this earlier on my twitter if not on this blog. Since I started with GNU/Linux I was so fascinated with the CLI. The first reason was it’s something not everyone preferred. The next it’s the preferred way of all the hackers I read about in text files.

With time I learned why people called it’s easy and powerful. I was familiar with it to the point that I felt home in a text terminal with green text on black background. Then came the time I was looking for CLI tools for most of my day to day stuff. Ever since I found Amarok not doing well for me I didn’t use a GUI music player. Right now I’m using MoC and never had second thoughts.

And I recently had this moment I found GUI to be very confusing. And when I was thinking about it later it was very confusing for me to understand too. GUI are made to be easy to use right?.

It was the last semester and we were doing Prolog. There was a practical session in labs to get us familiar with the visual Prolog (I’m not certain though) interface. But as always I had a good reason to not go there which I can’t remember now. But there’s a limit even a student can push things off. And so came the day I do Prolog.

As you can imagine it was the last possible moment start with Prolog and I was in a hurry. I checked out the the IDE on a friends machine and I thought it’s the end.

What Visual Prolog presented me (thx @varunarl)

What I saw. cc public.resurce.org

If I found the software for GNU/Linux I would use it, somehow. But luckily I didn’t and found swi-prolog instead. I just wanted to write some code and see how it works. swi-prolog got me going in no time. I wanted to learn how to use consult and it was pretty much all about it. I learned how to do it in visual Prolog in order to help a friend. But it was still way too complicated.

Swi-prolog basic usage

I know that the fact I’m trying to convey is not really rational. But the point is, in the GUI environments all controls are visible and for a beginner that can be too much. But in the CLI I only chose what I want. I learned both swi-prolog and visual Prolog with guides found on internet but I’m sure I took more time to filter out the necessary details in visual Prolog guide.

I didn’t do any serious programming in Prolog so I can’t say how each tool would serve you in such a scenario. But in my situation the CLI tool saved me a lot of frustration and time which helped me achieve required knowledge level for the exam. And on a not so related side note, *surprise surprise* I have passed that module :D.

One Comment

  1. CLI has its pros and cons. Just like anything else. But once you get used to it, its much more easy and faster than a using GUI, IMHO.


Leave a Reply

