Skip navigation

I watched Sherlock Holmes (2009). No I’m not gonna blame the movie. And no I haven’t had read the story before. But it was not _exactly_ the Sherlock Holmes I know. Before I proceed I should mention that the movie was pretty good and it disturbed only a very little to my Sherlock Holmes.

Sherlock Holmes movie posters | cc miss604

Well I said that. twice. i) Sherlock Holmes I know. ii) my Sherlock Holmes. This is the exact reason why a book can not be turned in to a movie without blames. Because no one can make ‘every ones Sherlock Holmes’, Or ‘every ones Harry Potter’. Not to mention ‘every ones Lord of the Rings’.

Let me elaborate a bit on this. By ‘my Sherlock Holmes’ I referred to the Sherlock Holmes and the world surrounding him, I built in my imagination with the _great_ help of the writer. There is a Sherlock Holmes in my mind. And a Watson. And a Bakers street. And everything.

We make stuff up in our minds while we read. I don’t even have to explain this to you great readers. Our love towards a book is proportional to the writers help in building the story in our imagination. But The writers are lucky. They just provide us the frame, with some details of course. We, the readers ourselves paint the world as we wish. And we are going to love what we create. So a book is more ‘ours’ than a movie ever will be.

Movie intersects my imaginations?

But in case of a movie, especially a movie that based on a book, the director (and also the others involved) takes on a challenge to make the story that goes with everyones imaginations. A movie is known to be good if it matches well enough with the imaginations of most of the viewers. The case is same for a movie based on a book but the viewers (who have read the book) try to match it with the imaginations they’ve already created ‘as THEY wish’.

So the movie only will intersect (I need a better word than this :) ) with imaginations of few viewers. And a hundred percent intersection will be a very rare case. So the movie is gonna get blamed more or less. Because a movie gets blamed if it disappoints the viewers and movie based on a book is going to disappoint the viewers more or less.

So about Sherlock Holmes, The movie was too gloomy than my Sherlock Holmes and Sherlock Holmes, the man, was too… well … I can’t explain. So I shouldn’t blame the movie :)

7 Comments

  1. If you havent read the book what right have you to comment on the comparison? refrain from blogging just for the sake of it.

    • Apparently the movie is not based on any book. At the time of writing I was not certain if it’s based on a real SH story.

      Anyhow, not reading the book is not a problem to write this article because I wrote it comparing the movie with the imaginations I created with _other_ Doyles Sherlock Holmes book.

      You don’t even have a blog or you are not man enough to link to it here. So you better not suggest me to refrain from blogging :). Good luck with trolling.

  2. dude guy ritchie’s sherlock holmes is not based upon any book or short story of arthur conan doyle! its an original screen play

    and fyi the movie depicts sherlock holmes as he is depecicted in the books the way arthur conan doyle intended to.

    read the wikipedia article:)

    • As I mentioned in my earlier comment reply, I didn’t know it was an original story line though I suspected it to be one since I haven’t heard of such a story. But I didn’t bother to mention this coz I thought it’d only distract me from the core idea.

      The Director might have followed Doyles description when building the character. But Directors Sherlock Holmes doesn’t exactly match with SH of my imaginations. That’s what I tried to express. Maybe I’m poor in writing or .. well .. otherwise :)

  3. Chanux, I get what youre saying. The SH of Connan Doyle’s books – the SH in my mind is a thin,gaunt,some what old guy with a drug (heroin?) problem. My SH is definitely not ‘hot’ :P which the movie SH definitely is :D
    I’m almost always disappointed with the movie version. Although one exception is English Patient – but then my book cover already had Ralph Fiennes on it – so my Almásy always did have RF’s face.

  4. “Our love towards a book is proportional to the writers help in building the story in our imagination”

    You are perfectly correctly according to my view.


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] a comment » I was motivated to write this post after reading “Why a book can not be turned in to a movie without blames?” post by chanux. His main point is, when a movie is made out of a book, or some part of the […]

  2. […] was motivated to write this post after reading “Why a book can not be turned in to a movie without blames?” post by chanux. His main point is, when a movie is made out of a book, or some part of the […]

Leave a Reply

