Skip navigation

Maybe this is the first time I seriously thought of a new year resolution (My memory is against me anyway). This morning I watched this program called Sandakada pahana on sirasa TV (ok, TV can be useful at times). There was a Buddhist monk and a guy called Ajith Jayawardena. Their talk actually made me want to think a bit more of this special day. And that’s why I’m writing this.

So.. when thinking of a new year resolution, what I have to think about? let me jot down.

What were my ultimate life goals? (And also what ARE.)
What were my plans for the year behind me and how much I accomplished?
What did I actually do?
What did I actually gain?
What changes I managed to make on my life? (positive or negative)
Where did I do well and where did I screw up?
Where do I stand on the way to my life goals?

Answers to these questions will help me come up with better and solid new year resolution. Before I work on the answers I have to save some other random ideas about my new year resolution.

I already know what would be the highest priority for next year (studies… again :D). So I should do my best to achieve in that aspect.

I want to learn (actually work with) few more programming languages. (And get away from students syndrome as much as I can.)

Contribute to plexydesk.
Socioplexy, a framework for plexydesk was my academic project in second semester. Can’t ever forget the great help received from Siraj in the project. So I want to help the Plexydesk the best I can.

Contribute some more to FOSS in Sri Lanka.
I feel like I did a lot less for FOSS comparing to year 2008. But it’s hard to find memories to confirm this to myself. Anyway the biggest thing I remember I did FOSS-wise is organizing the FOSS stall for SLIIT 10 year celebration event.

Continue SinhalenFOSS, the podcast I did with my friends.
2009 was a bad year for SinhalenFOSS in my opinion. All three of us Geekaholic, Seejay and myself were busy with crazy stuff and didn’t really put much in to the podcast. I was not busy all the time but some times I badly needed my free time for myself. It was a tiresome year overall.

Be job ready by the end of 2010.
Enough being a hole in mom and dads pockets.

Other than that I would like to make my self a bit more socialized (tech events are not socializing for me), read at least one book till the end :-S and start something cool (a tech project).

So that’s all running in my mind when I think of a new year resolution. Hope I’d be able to make myself an awesome 2010.

Wish you a successful new year ahead :), because everything good comes with success.

PS:

New Year’s Day now is the accepted time to make your regular annual good resolutions. Next week you can begin paving hell with them as usual. ~Mark Twain

May all your troubles last as long as your New Year’s resolutions! ~ Joey Adams

Good resolutions are simply checks that men draw on a bank where they have no account. ~ Oscar Wilde

A New Year’s resolution is something that goes in one Year and out the other ~ Anonymous

One Comment

  1. nice post bro. wish you luck in 2010. wish you a Happy New year!!!


Leave a Reply

