Skip navigation

The other day I was at one of my friends place. To install Micro$oft Window$ XP. Period. The machine had SATA drive which XP didn’t have drivers for. That’s why I had to go into the trouble of installing that cursed OS again after Jurassic age, she didn’t know how to put the floppy disk in to the drive at right time.

However once I installed suXPee then she wanted me to install “ubiquitous” Ubuntu GNU/Linux too. Well..Since Ubuntu is known to pass the Girlfriend test I decided to install. The installation process started & since the installer presented an NTFS partition resize option I chose it. And half the way I got an ERROR. It was the evening & I think it was almighty gods ceyesta time. Then I kept pulling my hair for sometime, called my friends Such & geekaholic in search of stress reduction.

Few nights went away keeping me busy & angry with Ubuntu Hardy Heron for not showing me enough of an error report, I mean for being too much user friendly (rest of the world call it so). Finally I came back to recover the partition & downloaded some well known NTFS recovery software & like any other poor guy I went in search of …. You know.

F*ck I didn’t find any. Looked for any FOSS solutions. I found two. Testdisk, I didn’t try coz Such said it didn’t work very well for him(older version problem) & Scrounge which I didn’t have enough confidence of using. And then my friend gave me a link which pointed me to some shareware kind of recovery tools. There I found this great tool which didn’t cost me a buck — Piriform Recuva. It is a great tool indeed. I recovered enough of files with it. I have no money to donate to the project but lot of love to spread. It’s a great tool even though I’m not gonna use neither window$ nor NTFS resize option of Ubuntu installer anymore.

So if you ever find the depth of “lost NTFS partition” hell, Recuva is worth trying.

3 Comments

  1. HEI CHANUX, AFTER LONG TIME.LIKE TO SEE U. BUT WHEN?

  2. no reply from u.

  3. Hey,

    I’ve found testdisk to be quite useful and it has worked for me in the past. At one point, had to format one of the OpenBSD boxes that was acting as a server (which was hosting couple of sites) and put some form of Linux on it. So I format, put debian and later someone has found out that the backup didn’t contained some html files belonging to a site.

    So I put testdisk, recovered the OpenBSD partition, pulled out all the files needed, then using testdisk restored the debian partitions. That worked remarkably well :-)


Leave a Reply

