Skip navigation

Still couldn’t rescue myself from the accelerated heart beat caused by RMS event at SLIIT & RMS-Geek event at UCSC rooftop.I’m proud to be a part of Sri Lankas most crowded ICT event (According to ICTA guy.) & also to remind & rejoice the moment I stood next to RMS.It was almost a dream to me if I speak (or rather type) HONESTLY.And also I’d like to congratulate & thank the SLIIT guys Amila,Waruna & all the other SLIIT FOSS club members for making it that much cool(Well the A/C was little bit high ;) ).

Bud(Mr.Buddhika Siddhisena) was Twittering all the main happenings & me
& seejay joined him too.I Twittered about Buds talk which ran just few minutes due to RMSs presence at the event.However I wish if bud had the chance to continue his talk because it was crucial in attracting newcomers in to FOSS or GNU/Linux world.

It was an event full of fun which everyone was in cool minds & I admit that it’s the nature of Geek life. Sense of humor is always present in Geek life. RMS proved it very much at the event.Ven. Metta joined him & surprisingly SLIIT Chairman & President Prof.Sam Karunarathne joined him too(You took the event down to 0C sir :) ) It was not a serious tied by tie event at all.I hope every one had the sense of freedom there.

Had chance to talk to all old “Software Freedom Day Buddies” at the event but missed few APIIT guys & NAZLY. And surprisingly Laktek, a good old blogging friend came & talk to me & Seeajay. We asked him “how did you manage to lense us?” & he said that ” Firefox T-shirts did the job”. It’s not that easy to find 2-3 pictures of myself on the net so laktek was clever enough to bypass my anonymity efforts.

The evening was also cool & serene. We (A bunch of Lankan geeks) met RMS there & he presented almost everyone with a joke & a hand shake. Then he left to get on the birdy-machine. Couldn’t have long geeky chats with others because me & seejay had to leave early. This is not the end of the story because those memories are going to stay in my heart forever.

PS: I was looking for Nazly at the event & got to know Nazly was in kandy as his grand ma passed away. Ven.Metta wanted me to share sympathies with him & I Twittered on behalf of all geeks.

2 Comments

  1. >> ” Firefox T-shirts did the job”. It’s not that easy to find 2-3 pictures of myself on the net so laktek was clever enough to bypass my anonymity efforts.

    Hi hi…That was pretty obvious as you were wearing your identity :)

  2. I missed the event big time.. I had to rush to Kandy on the 18th morning as I heard the news that my granny passed away. Priorities come first.. Anyway I couldn’t meet RMS :-( Thanks for keeping everyone updated.


Leave a Reply

