Skip navigation

Now you are here find some interesting ha? It’s not gonna be that much interesting;). 

Here’s the challenge.

If you can, create a file or folder named con (yes it’s “con”.) on windows, I will…..

…well this is gonna be interesting. What would I do if you prove that you can do it? Give you 50000$ (the price which Bill paid for DOS) or even more than that. No my friend… I’ll promise you to clean my room for next seven days. This is a big punishment for me. If you don’t believe me…ask my mom :) .

7 Comments

  1. You can not create that folders (DIRECTLY)

    Reason : In windows the folder name and the special system variables are sharing the same interface, so when u create folder with a system variable name it will consider that folder already exist!!

    These special system variables are available irrespective of path :-)

    You cannot create a folder with these names also:

    CON, NUL, COM1, COM2, COM3, LPT1, LPT2, LPT3, COM1 to COM9 and LPT1 to LPT9….

    COM1 means serial port 1, LPT1 means parallel port 1.

  2. Ok. Here is how you can cheat Windows :D

    There are two approaches. One is a cheating method and other one genuine.

    1. It is by using the Alt + NumPad key combination. This is the cheating method. It is possible to
    create any ASCII character by pressing the Alt + NumPad option. For example, to type ‘A’, you
    can use Alt + 65 (6 & 5 in number pad). Laptop users must use Fn key + Alt + 65. Alt + 255
    represents the blank character. To create a folder with name CON, LPT1 etc, follow the steps
    given below.

    i). Right click on My Computer, select New Folder
    ii) Type CON or LPT1 etc. Don’t press enter.
    iii) Type Alt + 255 using the number pad. A blank character will appear. Press Enter.

    You will get the corresponding folder.

    2. This is the genuine method. This uses UNC path names. Suppose you want to create a folder
    CON in your C: drive. Follow the steps given below.

    i) Open a command window [Start -> Run -> CMD]
    ii) Type the command as md \\.\C:\Con It should appear exactly as given.
    md is the DOS command and then two slashes, one dot, again one slash and then the path.
    iii) Press Enter and the corresponding folder will be created. Now, try to delete or rename this
    folder. Windows will not allow you to do so. To delete this, you need to use the rd command.

    Hope this helps. :)

  3. chanux, Where is my prize ? :D

    I prefer cash ;)

  4. Chanux, FYI, I am not a Window$ user. In office I use Mac and in Home I use Ubuntu & other distro’s :)

  5. Well technically he said “create it on windows”.. so a dos box shouldn’t count :)

    Interesting stuff anyway..

    ps: after you create the folder you can remove it with
    rmdir \\.\c:\con ( if the existence of the folder bothers you too much that is :) )

  6. Nope, I believe a Dosbox is quite acceptable. Give him his prize. :P

  7. Yes I’ll pay.. I’ll clean my room for next seven days :D . too bad..


Leave a Reply

