Skip navigation

Side Talk

I don’t know if there is a debate on whether Twitter can make money. But however I found following Tweet by @ev which makes me think so.

Email: “Your domain name (twitter.com) has been found online. Please let us know your price.” (And people say we can’t make money!) [Original Tweet]

And also I found this article by @davewiner which implies Twitter is not making much money yet. And more here.

And to add some more details, check Twitter about page. Following is an excerpt from money section of twitter about page

While our business model is in a research phase, we spend more money than we make.

Hmm.. I went so far away from the topic. But later on you’ll realize that it’s “not that far away” :) .

twitter

cheers!

On Topic

From the day I realized that the ‘following’ list of a Twitter page lists users in order of joining, I wanted to find who is the first user. I was checking the very first users listed on following lists of famous tweeple. Finally I found the way in to Twitter employees’ Twitter pages. Namely I checked twitter pages of @jack , @biz & @ev . Finally I realized that I can’t find any one before @jack (jack dorsey). And by the time I was messing up with twitter API and I could collect following details.

$curl http://twitter.com/users/show/<user_name&gt;.xml

@jack
<user>
<id>12</id>
<name>Jack Dorsey</name>
<screen_name>jack</screen_name>
<location>SF</location>
<description>A sailor, a tailor.</description>

@biz
<user>
<id>13</id>
<name>Biz Stone</name>
<screen_name>biz</screen_name>
<location>Berkeley, CA</location>
<description>Co-founder of Twitter</description>

@crystal
<user>
<id>15</id>
<name>crystal</name>
<screen_name>crystal</screen_name>
<location>San Francisco</location>
<description>Twitter Support</description>

@jeremy
<user>
<id>16</id>
<name>Jeremy</name>
<screen_name>jeremy</screen_name>
<location>San Francisco</location>

If I try to retrieve time line of the user number one I get following result.
You can see that the message is created in 2006 & whoever created message has used twttr, the name used to twitter at first.

$ curl http://twitter.com/statuses/user_timeline/1.xml
<?xml version=”1.0″ encoding=”UTF-8″?>
<statuses type=”array”>
<status>
<created_at>Mon Jul 10 14:21:11 +0000 2006</created_at>
<id>9267</id>
<text>just setting up my twttr</text>
<source>&lt;a href=&quot;http://help.twitter.com/index.php?pg=kb.page&amp;id=75&quot;&gt;txt&lt;/a&gt;</source&gt;

However This doesn’t belong to the user number 1. There’s a user named 1 @1 :D & this belongs to him. And he has 73 followers :D . I hope this is the first twitter account. The only update of @1 is done via text. Maybe that’s done for testing update from text. By the way it’s Twitter ID 436.

Again went off on a tangent. Yes we’re going insearch of the Twitter user number one.

Following is the result I get when I try to retrieve friends list for user number 1. Request for friend list can be done by user number. That’s why I use this.

$ curl  http://twitter.com/stasuses/friends/1.json

<html><body>You are being <a href=”http://twitter.com/login”>redirected</a&gt;.</body></html>

Yes as you can see I’m being redirected. If you closely check the user details I mentioned before you’ll realize that user number 14 is also missing.

So finally I come to this conclusion. Twitter user number 1-11 are still there wasted. And the practical first Twitter user is @jack. And I want you to jump back to the first portion of this article. Remember we were talking about making money?

This money making idea is not originally mine. My best bud @seejay came up with this idea when I talked to him about very topic.

On IM seejay said :

“It means Twitter can make money selling those IDs on ebay?”

Hell yeah. They can make money (If they like).

I think it’s possible for Twitter guys to get those accounts back & I hope there will be people to buy those accounts for unbelievable prices. I say that because this actually happened :D .

Get some money and improve our loving Twitter dear Twitter guys. Give me few bucks if you like. well…forget seejay in this case ;) .

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Was war eigentlich der erste Tweet? | Scatterd on 04 Nov 2009 at 2:23 am

    [...] er einer oder sogar der erste User ist. Doch halt, genau genommen war Jack nicht der erste. Denn er trägt die User-ID 12. Wo sind also die ersten 11 [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,048 other followers

